Rosewater Fabric & Lace Cowl

Summer isn’t usually conducive to knitting, but my latest published pattern was designed to be a quick knit for warm weather. The Rosewater Fabric & Lace Cowl, published in the August 2017 issue of “I Like Knitting,” combines my love of fabric and yarn to make a lacy cowl that’s half purchased lace fabric and half knitted lace.

ILKfull

(c) I Like Knitting

By using a sturdy lace fabric, there’s no need to finish the raw edges, minimizing sewing for those who prefer to focus on the knitting.

ILKcrop

(c) I Like Knitting

Because most lace fabrics feature floral motifs, I wanted a knitting stitch pattern that would not compete with the floral elements. At the same time, I didn’t want a highly angular or geometric pattern, such as the ubiquitous diamond-based lace designs. After much searching, I found a flowery pattern that wasn’t a true floral. This design will complement a wide variety of floral lace fabrics.

Starlight_Lace_Cowl_flat

Experiment with different fabrics and color combos—use similar fabric and yarn colors like I did, or try contrasting or gradient colors in either half. I’d love to see what you try!

In sewing news, I ventured into the realm of home dec and made bedroom curtains using a gold/ cream brocade from Mood Fabrics. They’re lined with a very lightweight white cotton fabric. The curtains were 5 years in the making: I’ve been imagining these since we moved in! In the process, I discovered how difficult it is to cut a perfect rectangle out of fabric– the brocade tended to shift around, and the lining turned out to be off-grain. But the struggle with the fabrics was worth it– the curtains are everything I dreamed of!

curtains_small

Leave a Reply

