Random Drawing Winner, and a flouncy dress.

The winner of the random drawing for a free copy of the Polonaise pattern is craftyone! She has been contacted.

I talked a little bit last time about how much I love lacy, flouncy clothes. Polonaise filled that need, while still being practical. But I also threw aside all practical considerations a while ago, and embarked on making F2601 from Marfy. It was quite a challenge, because the pattern provides no written instructions, and the smallest size it came in was a bit too large. But with the help of Ashley from Grey’s Fabric and Notions, I figured out how to construct the dress and adjust the fit. I made it in a kaleidoscoping green/ brown cotton-backed silk I picked up in at Banjaras during my trip to India last year. The dress is nearly finished, over a year later. I just have a lot of hemming to go at the skirt edges and sleeves. I finished the neckline with lace hem tape this afternoon, which worked well. Here’s a 90% complete picture (aiming to have a 100% complete photo next time!):

Marfy_f2601_modeled_unhemmed_sm

Leave a Reply

